Tags

,

I am going to embark on a project to analyze media’s role today in the portrayal of beauty, aimed specifically at women. The goal of this project is not necessarily to point fingers at media, but to show the consequences they have created by only advertising a certain type of “beauty.” I hope to do this by using sources such as websites, videos,  and case studies.

I consider myself very independent from what the world may think of me, however, I too have found myself questioning what I look like. Am I pretty enough, am I skinny enough, is my nose too round, is my hair too crazy? I quickly am able to get society’s voice out of my head and feel content again, but my concern is with the women that can’t. I would venture to say that almost every woman, whether consciously or subliminally, has been at least slightly affected by media, and that is why I care about this topic.

